Firewall blocks "games" help?

Everquest and general technical help.

Moderator: Nadia

Post Reply
Nerrick27
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2003 4:45 AM

Firewall blocks "games" help?

Post by Nerrick27 » Sat Sep 04, 2004 7:34 AM

im trying to play EQ from Iraq, (us soldier), i have my own IP address on a sattelite connection, we are trying to get the firewalled lifted, but no luck yet. if anyone knows of a way to get around this firewall just so i can play some EQ so the time will fly by here it would be greatly appreciated. thanks.

Nerrick
65 Ranger
Illuminatis
(temp. disabled list, hehe)

User avatar
Ddrak
Adventurer of Underfoot
Posts: 1360
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2003 1:00 PM
Location: EQ2.Blackburrow
Contact:

Post by Ddrak » Thu Sep 09, 2004 10:07 PM

Unfortunately, I don't think it would be possible - especially if the firewall is blocking ports not under your control. EQ uses almost every port above 1024 which makes it rather unfriendly to a proper firewall.

If you can get them to turn on some sort of NAT (Network Address Translation) then things may work for you.

Dd

Nerrick27
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2003 4:45 AM

Post by Nerrick27 » Fri Sep 10, 2004 7:44 AM

thanks Dd, i been tryin to get our higher up guys to call the sat. peeps. no luck yet. will keep trying though.

Nerrick
65 Ranger
Illuminatis

Talazar Shadowhawk
The Cookie Man Cometh
Posts: 296
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2002 10:52 AM
Location: localhost.localdomain

Post by Talazar Shadowhawk » Tue Sep 14, 2004 11:23 AM

Hey, do you think that a combo of http-tunnel and permeo would work?

Nerrick27
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2003 4:45 AM

Post by Nerrick27 » Wed Sep 15, 2004 10:55 AM

i emailed the permeo company, i cant access the tunnel site, the firewall blocks that too. i am having horrible luck so far. thank you for the suggestion, will post what the permeo guys say if they respond.


Nerrick
65 Ranger
Illuminatis

Dynincallor
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 10:24 AM

Post by Dynincallor » Wed Sep 15, 2004 12:29 PM

Might be a way to put your IP address in a DMZ (yes, that is what it's called :) ) basically leaving it outside the protection of the firewall, but I wouldn't count on it.
Spellcrafter Dynincallor
66 Arcanist
Sonorous Officer

Nerrick27
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2003 4:45 AM

Post by Nerrick27 » Wed Sep 15, 2004 1:22 PM

how would i go about doing that Dynin? thanks


Nerrick
65 Ranger
Illuminatis

Jobasder

Post by Jobasder » Wed Jan 03, 2007 8:05 PM


Post Reply